Radical acceptance 

For those of you familiar with DBT,

DBT is amazinG it’s similar to CBT but a little different. Each therapy should be tailor to each individual but I do recommend trying DBT for this with chronic mental illness.
“To heal, you have to give yourself to the pain. You cannot avoid facing yourself your whole life.”

 — Bryant McGill
There’s a concept called “radical acceptance” in DBT. And the definition, I got from psychology today (probably the Wikipedia/webMD of mental health) 

“Radical Acceptance means completely and totally accepting something from the depths of your soul, with your heart and your mind. You stop fighting reality. When you stop fighting you suffer less.”

I feel like I’m fighting my illness instead of accepting. I’m running away from something I can’t outrun. Radical acceptance is so important and helps so many things. DBT is amazing and I hope that others look into it or practice it because it truly does make you feel better. 

Leave a Reply

